E-40 & B-Legit are two of the Westcoast most respected MC’s and when we heard that we would be getting a new project from the duo a few months ago, we knew it would be nothing short of Epic. They are scheduled to drop their 19 Connected and Respected album tonight and it’s a Westcoast classic from the first listen.

One of the most celebrated rappers of all time, Vallejo, CA’s E-40 has attained legendary status in hip-hop. Teaming up for a project with his cousin and first collaborator B-Legit, 40 shares Connected & Respected40’s first full-length collaborative album as a duo with another rapper. Displaying the chemistry they’ve perfected since the Reagan era, 40 and B-Legit form a brilliant yin and yang, with B-Legit’s deep-voiced manifestos grounding E-40’s wordplay and elastic flows. Delving deep into the duo’s extensive history together, the album boasts a cover featuring a vintage photo of 40 and B-Legit together in their junior high band uniforms. Packed with classic Bay Area slappers like the P-Lo-featuring dancefloor jam “BOY,” Connected & Respected is a master-class in rhyming and a treatise to the importance of keeping it in the family.The Click, P-Lo, Rexx Life Raj, Uncle Murda, 4rAx of The Mekanix, Stresmatic, JT the 4th and others, Connected & Respected arrives via Sick Wid It Records.

Growing up in Vallejo, CA, Earl Stevens (E-40) and Brandt Jones (B-Legit) were inseparable from a young age, developing a close friendship and creative partnership strong enough to last decades. Stevens and Jones used their street smarts to turn a negative situation into a positive, playing together in the junior high school marching band, rapping, and earning enough money to get by. In 1986, B-Legit was accepted to Grambling State University in Louisiana, and 40 followed, fearing that he would go down a dangerous path without his cousin and confidante. At Grambling, the two became campus celebrities when they won a talent show, creating a rap version of the school’s alma mater song. Inspired, the duo moved back to Vallejo to pursue music full-time. Keeping their ambitions in the family, Stevens and Jones recruited Earl’s brother Danell (D-Shot) and sister Tenina (Suga T) to form MVP, a new rap group. By 1992, the group refashioned itself as The Click, hustling their way into becoming one of the most popular acts in rap, selling more than 200,000 copies per release and securing a distribution deal with Jive Records for E-40’s Sick Wid It Records. Though The Click dropped its last album in 2002, B-Legit and E-40 remain close friends and collaborators, frequently guesting on each other’s tracks. On Connected & Respected, E-40 and B-Legit recapture the old magic that made The Click one of the most unique rap groups in history, highlighted by 40’s gonzo wordplay and insane alchemy with his bandmates.

Buy/stream Connected & Respectedhttp://smarturl.it/E40BL
Spotify: http://open.spotify.com/album/3RXaP3Adt3TLsnIKRPBb1x

Connected & Respected tracklist:

  1. Life Lessons (feat. Stressmatic)
  2. Straight Like That (feat. Ocky)
  3. Boy (feat. P Lo)
  4. Guilty By Association
  5. Carpal Tunnel
  6. Stompdown (Skit 1)
  7. Meet The Dealers (feat. Stresmatic)
  8. Get It On My Own (feat. Ocky)
  9. Up Against It
  10. Fsho (feat. JT the 4th)
  11. Whooped (feat. DecadeZ)
  12. Tap In (feat. Uncle Murda)
  13. You ah Lie (feat. 4rAx)
  14. Need To Know (feat. Rexx Life Raj)
  15. Stompdown (Skit 2)
  16. Bare
  17. Barbershop (feat. Stresmatic)
  18. Blame It (feat. The Click)
  19. So High (feat. ProHoeZak)
The Background:
Known for pioneering the independent rap business and paving the way for indie powerhouses such as his friends Cash Money and No Limit Records to flourish, few rappers have the longevity or influence of Vallejo, California’s E-40. Now, he is re-connecting with his cousin and one of his earliest musical collaborators, B-Legit, for a full-length album a first in their 30+ year history as partners-in-crime and in-life. They released Connected & Respected on April 6th.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here